Believe In the World

Wisdom for Grown-Ups from Children's Books
by Amy Gash, Elise Howard, R.J. Palacio

Shipping to the U.S. only. Please see our International FAQ for more information.

$25.00

Also available at

An inspiring and delightful illustrated collection of quotations from a diverse range of our most beloved children's books that will help teach all of us how to live in the world today, perfect for gift season and for readers of books like The Boy, The Mole, The Fox, and The...
Read More

Published By Algonquin Books

Format Hardback

Category

Number Of Pages 176

Publication Date 08/20/2024

ISBN 9781643755533

Dimensions 5 inches x 7 inches


"What a joy it is to read this book! It’s a treasure trove of beautiful, thought-provoking quotations. These pages inspired me to re-read many of my favorite books, and I’ve added dozens of new titles to my to-be-read pile."
 

— Gretchen Rubin, bestselling author of The Happiness Project and Life in Five Senses

“I can’t imagine any reader not being inspired by the wisdom from children’s books of the past and present that Gash and Howard have collected. Reading through it not only gave me much to think about (for example In Achingly Alice, Phyllis Reynolds Naylor tells us that “Happiness is wanting what you have.”), but these quotes also brought back so many lovely memories of books that I’d read as a kid or when I worked as a children’s librarian. And Eleanor Davis’s illustrations are a perfect complement to the text."

— Nancy Pearl, author of Book Lust: Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason

Believe in the World lets the voices that have been calling out to us since childhood be heard—voices that have been largely drowned out in our noisy, distracted adult lives. Gash and Howard have given us a way to recall a time in our lives when being human meant aspiring to be kind, finding ways to be brave, showing gratitude, holding community and family close, and seeking friendship above all else. It's not that we've wholly forgotten the lessons from the books of our youth, it's just that too many of us have stopped listening.”

— Nick Higgins, Chief Librarian, Brooklyn Public Library

"As a librarian who reads and recommends books to children, so many of those books touch me as powerfully as they touch the kids. This diverse collection is filled with wisdom, whimsy, and joy and will make a lasting impact.”

— Heather Grace, TikTok Librarian @thecontouredlibrarian

Praise for What the Dormouse Said

"Charming. By turns touching, funny, scary, nostalgic.”
The New York Times

“By turns humorous, perverse, nonsensical and insightful, the words will jog more than a few memories.”
Publishers Weekly

“A nice little gift book.”
Booklist

— --