The Nightingale Affair

A Novel
by Tim Mason

Shipping to the U.S. only. Please see our International FAQ for more information.

$28.00

Also available at

In this twisty Victorian detective thriller from the author of The Darwin Affair, Inspector Charles Field hunts a serial killer with a sinister signature targeting Florence Nightingale’s nurses in Crimea and women in London. 

Who is stalking Florence Nightingale and her nurses? Is it the legendary Beast of the Crimean, or...
Read More

Published By Algonquin Books

Format Hardback

Number Of Pages 400

Publication Date 05/09/2023

ISBN 9781643750392

Dimensions 6.4 inches x 9.35 inches


"Richness of incident, absorbing details and a breathtaking finale elevate The Nightingale Affair to the top rank of historical shockers."
— The Wall Street Journal

“Because Mason places the killer and his excuses openly among his protagonists, and the threats to Field and his family are menacing and time-linked, The Nightingale Affair is at least as much of a thriller (think: ticking clock) as it is a historical novel. Yet the portrait of Nightingale both in her prime and as an aging yet still effective advocate is strong and memorable, giving the book its lively flavor that hints at all the shifts in women’s rights and health care about to unfold. Don’t expect an extraordinary police investigation here; read the book instead for the colorful storytelling around this classic “change agent” and her insistence on respect, honor, and care.”

— The New York Journal of Books

"Time-travel through the gilded halls and sinister streets of Victorian London and onward to the horrors of the Crimean War as a determined detective tracks a ruthless killer. Political intrigue, a backdrop of social upheaval, and a cast of nineteenth-century luminaries make this stylish, cleverly plotted thriller a must-read for fans of historical fiction."
— Dean Jobb, author of The Case of the Murderous Dr. Cream

"The Nightingale Affair is the best kind of historical thriller — beautifully written, expertly plotted, and brimming with vivid characters and detail. Tim Mason made a brilliant debut with The Darwin Affair, and this one is even better."
— Daniel Stashower, author of American Demon: Eliot Ness and the Hunt for America’s Jack the Ripper.

"Inspector Charles Field makes a welcome return in Mason’s stellar second historical whodunit... The action alternates between past and present, each switch masterfully heightening the tension. Mason’s superb plotting and well-drawn lead bode well for future installments."

— Publishers Weekly

"In Field (introduced in The Darwin Affair, 2019), readers will find a detective whose humility, unflinching observations, and pragmatic take on rules are bound to charm. Mason’s second Field thriller is a deep, gritty dive into Victorian London that’s perfect for fans of Alex Grecian’s Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad series and Caleb Carr’s The Alienist."
— Booklist

"The book's first part, set mainly in Crimea, is compelling, in part because Nightingale herself is a fascinating character... It does boast a blockbuster ending in subterranean London, rich historical detail, and a cast of real characters, from Benjamin Disraeli to Dickens himself. A killer who once stalked Florence Nightingale’s nurses seems to be resurrected in this satisfying thriller."

— Kirkus Reviews

"The book's language and tone are firmly grounded in the time and place... While it all too accurately portrays the misogyny of the era, this mystery will keep readers captivated and will be popular with admirers of Victorian detective novels."
— Library Journal

“This is a fast-paced, compelling novel with historical fact and fiction expertly interwoven. The historical characters never overpower the story, nor does the fiction detract from fact.”

— Historical Novels Review