Sugaring Off

by Gillian French

Shipping to the U.S. only. Please see our International FAQ for more information.

$17.99

Also available at

ITW Thriller Award Finalist

A dazzling and evocative novel about love and loss—with a dash of thrilling mystery—for fans of Mindy McGinnis and Courtney Summers.

Owl has always been her freest self in the mountains, tracking, hiking, and exploring the steep forested acres of her aunt and uncle’s maple sugar farm....

Read More

Published By Algonquin Young Readers

Format Hardback

Category

Number Of Pages 352

Publication Date 11/01/2022

ISBN 9781643752709

Dimensions 5.85 inches x 8.65 inches


ITW Thriller Award Finalist

"As in French’s other books, she treats her working-class characters with compassion but not preciousness, with a third-person narration that shows the complications of small-town life without exploiting it for drama.”
— The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"Paced with the smoothness of flowing maple sugar, this book is to be savored."
— SLJ

"As ever, French weaves her storylines deftly…By the time a thriller plot kicks in, readers will be thoroughly embedded."
— Kirkus Reviews

"At turns lyrical and stark, Sugaring Off is a foray into the wilderness of New Hampshire’s mountains, a sensitive portrait of coming of age in rural America, and a spine-tingling thriller. Gillian French, like Delia Owens and Kristin Hannah, weaves her characters and the natural world they inhabit together masterfully."
— Cameron Kelly Rosenblum, author of The Stepping Off Place, a Kirkus Best Book of 2020

"A work of great beauty. Part mystery, part a story of love and loss, it’s all heart."
— Betty Culley, award-winning author of Three Things I Know Are True