Dead Flip

by Sara Farizan

Shipping to the U.S. only. Please see our International FAQ for more information.

$17.99

Also available at

In this “terrifyingly fun” (NYT) horror comedy, two friends must solve the mystery of their long-missing former friend’s supernatural reappearance—perfect for fans of Stranger Things.

Growing up, Cori, Maz, and Sam were inseparable best friends, sharing their love for pop culture, Halloween, and arcade games. Now it’s 1992, Sam has...
Read More

Published By Algonquin Young Readers

Format Hardback

Category

Number Of Pages 272

Publication Date 08/30/2022

ISBN 9781643750804

Dimensions 5.85 inches x 8.6 inches


"A terrifyingly fun read."
— The New York Times

"In this well-crafted homage to narratives like It and Stranger Things, Farizan nails the uneasiness of shifting adolescent relationships... A fumbling queer romance and the pitch-perfect late-October setting create a bittersweet tone that makes this book a great choice for stalwart horror fans and newcomers to the genre."
— Booklist, Starred review

"A thoughtful homage that puts its own fresh spin on these beloved tropes. Entertaining supernatural thrills and an insightful take on growing up."
 
— Kirkus Reviews

"Farizan recalls Jumanji’s eerie atmosphere in this nostalgic, supernatural thriller... Farizan skillfully blends lighthearted comedy with grotesque horror."
— Publishers Weekly

"With the 1990s making a cultural comeback, and perennial interest in throwback horror, such as Stranger Things, younger teens will dig into this sinister story."
— School Library Journal

"A thoughtful thriller along with some very realistic surprises… If you are a fan [of Stranger Things], you will enjoy Dead Flip."
— Locus

"I was expecting just a kind of scary and humorous book that would be a fun read, but it tackled a lot of issues that I was not expecting to come from a book about an evil pinball machine.... This book was extremely fun to read with its many interesting quirks, but what really made it enjoyable to read was the wonderful character development and regrowing friendship."

— School Library Journal