A House for Miss Pauline

A Novel
by Diana McCaulay

Shipping to the U.S. only. Please see our International FAQ for more information.

$29.00

Also available at

Starring an unforgettably fierce 99-year-old Jamaican heroine, A House for Miss Pauline is a transporting and tender story with a mystery at its heart that asks profound and urgent questions about who owns the land on which our identities are forged. For readers of Nicole Dennis-Benn, James McBride, and other stories...
Read More

Published By Algonquin Books

Format Hardback

Number Of Pages 288

Publication Date 02/25/2025

ISBN 9781643757223

Dimensions 6 inches x 9 inches


"History’s crimes unfurl in this magical story—a story as Jamaican as the stones in the title—and Diana McCaulay’s immaculate, breathtaking writing carries it with poise and conviction. This novel is poetry."

— Lisa Allen Agostini

"Diana McCaulay is one of the Caribbean’s finest writers. As an environmental activist, a Jamaican woman, and a writer of both contemporary and historical fiction, her novels are building blocks of the current Caribbean canon and will be read for years to come."

— Monique Roffey